Guide of the UEMR Student 2018 - 2019 - excerpts

"In order to understand how a university works, it is necessary to know its composing structures and the legal provisions of its operation in accordance with the Bologna process.

The Bologna process was launched in 1999, following the Declaration signed by the Ministers of Education from 29 European countries. This process, currently applied in 47 countries, was built for the promotion of the following principles:
- international mobility of students and teachers;
- autonomy of universities;
- participation of students in the academic governance;
- students’ training both for career building and for the life of citizens actively involved in society;
- free access to quality education and recognition and validation of the study periods through credits.
The most important guidelines imposed by the Bologna Process are:
• Organisation of academic studies by 3 levels of study:
- Bachelor (3-4 years);
- Master (1-2 years);
- PhD (3 years).
The qualification obtained after the finalisation of the first level of university studies (Bachelor’s Degree) allows the graduates’ insertion to the labour market in Europe. Furthermore, a bachelor graduate in a certain domain may study a different field in his or her master studies.
• Through the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) one assures the recognition and validation of studies attended in a certain period at more than one university. Thus, students have the opportunity to study a semester or even a whole academic year in another higher education institution.
• Quality assurance in education by specific standards which suppose training focused on the student, the combination of classic methods with the modern ones based on the new teaching technologies, and students are encouraged to take an active part in their own training.
• Lifelong Learning." (pages 5-6)

Guide of the UEMR Student 2018 - 2019 (RO)